Knitting, Films and Car Boots

I run the risk of sounding a bit lazy in this post, but before I do, I’ll attempt to justify it by saying I am off work on holiday and I am generally someone who is always ‘on the go’.  Relaxation is good for me, I know that, it’s just I am not too good at relaxing.  Actually that is one of the reasons why I am so passionate about crafting – for me it is ‘productive’ relaxation.

Anyway, today I had a film day.  I watched ‘Coco Before Chanel’ and ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’.

Initially the plan was to get through a pile of ironing at the same time as watching at least one of the movies (you see, another good example of productive relaxation).  However I quickly realised that both movies had subtitles so that simply wasn’t going to work.

I did, however, manage to get some knitting done.  I worked on my pashmina cowl which is a really simple pattern – just a tube, knit in the round, in stockinette, with a little detail at the top and the bottom.  It is the sort of knitting you can do with your eyes shut so a great project for both of these movies.  I am knitting it in 100% pure silk and actually my knitting on this project is a bit below par – my tension is all over the shop.  I’ll blame it on the yarn.  It is a bit pathetic to be knitting something so basic, so badly.  I tried to teach myself continental style knitting half way through the project (because I was bored) so that didn’t help…

Anyway, I digress.  Both films are excellent.  Coco was fairly easy watching, although there were some quite sad parts.  She had a very poor upbringing.  Audrey Tautou played Coco and she is just so stunning and elegant.  Perfect casting.  I loved all the amazing fashion (and that hats!)  It was great.

Dragon Tattoo was really engaging – twists and turns throughout the whole plot.  It dealt with some very disturbing themes (which I’d normally avoid in a film) but I really thought the film was fabulous.  It is based on a book which is very popular at the moment so perhaps I’ll give that a try.  I watched the dubbed version of this movie rather than the subtitled version and that worked well with knitting.

Apologies for the short and sweet film reviews, but it is not far off 11pm and I need to get to bed as I have an early start tomorrow.  I am selling at a car boot sale and I need to get there for about 7.30am (a.k.a stupid ‘o clock).  Let’s hope tomorrow’s weather is fine and I sell lots of my second-hand tat!

0 Responses to “Knitting, Films and Car Boots”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to the iMake Blog

iMake is the home of handmade in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

The iMake blog is where I share my love of all things handmade, through photos, links, tutorials, general ramblings and the iMake podcast. To find the podcast, visit the podcast page of this blog.

If you would like to know more about iMake please visit www.imake.gg or email info@imake.gg.

iMake is on Facebook, Twitter, Ravelry, Flickr, Folksy and Pinterest.  Please click on the icons below to be taken directly to the iMake pages. 

iMake on Facebook iMake on Twitter iMake on Ravelry 

Folksy

View Martine's Pins on Pinterest

Who is iMake?

Guernsey girl, maker of stuff, teacher, knitter, blogger, podcaster, tweeter, lover of stationery, geek, crocheter, jewellery maker, domestic goddess (sort of), paper crafter, g&t drinker, artist, singer and reluctant sports person.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


