Stitch n’ Bitch at The Market Kitchen

I have just returned from a lovely evening at the iMake Stitch n’ Bitch.  We normally gather at a local gallery (fabulous place, The Gallery, check it out) but this time, for a change, we met at The Market Kitchen.

The Market Kitchen is a really lovely restaurant/bar/bistro in the heart of St Peter Port.  Unfortunately it is quite new so there is no website yet, but I will post a link when they get online.

Around 20 or so ladies gathered tonight and there was a really wide variety of crafts going on.  I was particularly pleased to see some non ‘stitch’ crafts happening.  I love the idea that Stitch n’ Bitch encompasses any craft!  We had some jewellery making and a lady making flowers out of willow, as well as the more traditional knitting, crochet and embroidery.

There were several highlights through out the evening.  Firstly the food…  We thought we’d try some tappas with our craft.  I was a bit worried that this could go horribly wrong, however it worked out brilliantly.  It was a ‘£10 for 5 tappas’ deal and the food was wonderful.  I worked surprisingly well and nobody spilled food (or gin and tonic) on their masterpiece.  We also had a local press photographer turn up and take our photograph.  Hopefully they’ll give my podcast a bit of a plug in the article.  Something that made me smile this evening was a few of the ladies came up with the slogan ‘if you can knit and purl you can do just about anything’.  Initially they were just talking about knitting patterns but then started applying it to life in general and I thought that was really quite cool!

So a good time was had by all.  I recorded a couple of interviews on my iPad which seem to have come out quite well, so they will be featured in my next podcast.

That’s all from me for now.  I’ll leave you with a little photo of our gathering…

4 Responses to “Stitch n’ Bitch at The Market Kitchen”


  1. 1 katie allisette 23/09/2010 at 9:44 pm

    Hi Martine

    I didnt realise that Stitch n bitch opened itself to non stitch craft.

    I told Bex to get in touch with you and i believe she went along tonight.

    When do you do your s n b nights? How much does it cost etc?

    Kt. xx

  2. 3 Jo Ingrouille 29/09/2010 at 2:55 pm

    Hi Martine
    we had a great time that night (as always when s’n’bing) and I would love to encourage people to knit in public so much more! We have been to Dix Neuf a couple of times and just today had lunch at Chouet tearooms complete with knitting and crochet!
    We have been stared at alot less than expected and although most people do a double-take the only comments have been positive.
    So, people of Guernsey, pick up your needles and get out there!!!
    See you next month
    Love Jo xx

    • 4 imakehandmade 29/09/2010 at 5:10 pm

      Hi Jo

      I feel something of a ‘knit in public’ mission coming on. I LOVE knitting in public. I don’t care about the funny looks. Most people are fascinated and excited about what you are making! I am recording a new podcast this weekend so I will promote knitting in public and give you a shout out! Perhaps we could host a Knit in Public day… http://www.wwkipday.com/

      See you at the next SnB and thanks for your comments.

      Martine 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome to the iMake Blog

iMake is the home of handmade in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

The iMake blog is where I share my love of all things handmade, through photos, links, tutorials, general ramblings and the iMake podcast. To find the podcast, visit the podcast page of this blog.

If you would like to know more about iMake please visit www.imake.gg or email info@imake.gg.

iMake is on Facebook, Twitter, Ravelry, Flickr, Folksy and Pinterest.  Please click on the icons below to be taken directly to the iMake pages. 

iMake on Facebook iMake on Twitter iMake on Ravelry 

Folksy

View Martine's Pins on Pinterest

Who is iMake?

Guernsey girl, maker of stuff, teacher, knitter, blogger, podcaster, tweeter, lover of stationery, geek, crocheter, jewellery maker, domestic goddess (sort of), paper crafter, g&t drinker, artist, singer and reluctant sports person.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


