Episode 5 – Scrapping Weekend

This podcast episode features a number of interviews from my recent creative weekend away in Jersey.  I attended a scrapbooking workshop run by the ladies from Scrapagogo, called ‘GoGo Take Shape’.  I had a fantastic time and in just one day I made an exciting project and 4 new layouts.  I learned lots of new techniques.  A fantastic day was topped off by a great night out with the girls ‘on the town’ in Jersey, followed by a luxurious manicure at our hotel the following day (The Royal Yacht – without a doubt Jersey’s swankiest hotel).

Before you listen to the podcast, please check out the following photos of the project and layouts I created…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So without further ado, here’s episode 5 (click on the link below to listen online).

Episode 5 – Scrapping Weekend

Show notes

The following websites are mentioned in the podcast.  Please let me know if I have forgotten any!

Ravelry pattern – Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

Ravelry pattern – Shawl Collared Cowl

World Wide Knit in Public Day

Campaign for Wool

Scrapagogo

Royal Yacht Hotel in Jersey

Stray Sock Sewing book

The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Jewellery Making Techniques

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Plush-o-rama book

Finally it is lovely to hear from listeners, feel free to email me on info@imake.gg or click on any of the social networking icons on the right hand side of this blog.

8 Responses to “Episode 5 – Scrapping Weekend”


  1. 1 Julie 03/10/2010 at 2:27 am

    I love your podcast! It’s so inspiring. I can’t seem to put my knitting needles down long enough to embark on other crafty endeavors (especially with 2 children under age 3 at home) but I’ve done several other crafts as a teenager including scrapbooking, crocheting, embroidery, jewelry making and the like. I LOVE the scrapbook pages that you’ve done for your scrapbooking weekend. The flower embellishments make me so happy just to look at them! Thanks again for sharing your experiences via your podcast!

    • 2 imakehandmade 03/10/2010 at 7:39 am

      Hi Julie

      Thank you so much for your message! I am really glad you like the podcast and the scrapbooking layouts. It must be tough finding time for yourself with 2 little ones.
      As for the flower embellishments – I know exactly what you mean!

      Best regards

      Martine

  2. 3 Jane Grassie 03/10/2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hi Martine

    I have just finished listening to Episode 5 sat in my craft room with iTunes on my MacBook, surfing the websites you mention, while paper crafting away on my current project (this week an 18th card for my stepson’s girlfriend – a two dimensional standup ball gown, all glitzy, pink and pretty with jewels and ribbon!).

    You are fast become a “fix” on my Sunday afternoons – a time when I can squeeze an hour or so to myself, knowing dinner is ready to go and the ironing is done!

    I can immerse myself in my passion for all things paper – of which I have a huge stash – some too lovely to cut up!! Stash busting, what’s that!

    Listening to you and what you are up to is great – I loved the interviews from Jersey and was very envious of you over there with Scrapagogo and just love the slideshow of your achievements – fabulous.

    Being over in Guernsey too and knowing what you are chatting about makes your pods even more special – it’s like being part of a special gang! Like Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven or Famous Five! Get listening to the Guernsey Literary and PPP Society book – I read it in one sitting – it is fabulous, made more exciting living here when you can imagine the places mentioned!

    I must say one thing – you MUST make some socks – I am not a knitter, despite my mum trying to teach me many times (being left handed I have found it near impossible to grasp both knitting and crochet) but my mum, who is in her mid 70’s, knits them all the time for the family. I have loads of pairs of stripy wool socks that have become a staple requirement in the evening once you have your jammies on on a cold evening. They are sooooo snuggly!

    Give them a go ready for winter when you can tuck down in the warm when it is blowing a gale outside!

    Keep the pods coming – my Sunday’s won’t be the same now if you stopped!

    Take care
    Janey 🙂

    • 4 imakehandmade 03/10/2010 at 4:25 pm

      Hi Jane

      Thanks for your lovely message 🙂 I am so glad you are enjoying the podcast. I just have so much fun recording it and it is lovely to know people actually like to listen! I really do think I will try some socks – it just feels like the weather is right for it!

      Delighted the podcast is your Sunday afternoon fix – although it will probably be every other Sunday as I am generally only managing a podcast every 2 weeks. I’d rather do that and put out a decent episode rather than cobble something together. There are some other really good knitting podcasts out there but not many general craft ones (hence starting to podcast myself). If I do come across any good general craft ones I shall let you know.

      Thanks again for leaving a message on the blog and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

      Martine

  3. 5 Kiera 09/10/2010 at 4:18 pm

    Hello Martine, I just found your podcast with in the last week and am loving it!
    I listen mostly at work so it is so nice hearing about Guernsey and what a beautiful place it sounds like.
    It is great to find a podcast that covers so many things, I do not knit myself but i enjoy many other crafts and its great to find some one else who does as well. I must say after this podcats and visiting the scrapagogo site I’m going to have to give a try at scrapbooking!
    Maybe first I should finish some of crafts first, haha.
    Your interviewing skills are superb and I think will only get better when you *hopefully continue interviews!
    Keep up the crafts!

    • 6 imakehandmade 09/10/2010 at 4:27 pm

      Hi Kiera

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the podcast. I am thrilled that you are enjoying it 🙂 Us multi-crafters do tend to suffer with ‘start-itis’ (i.e. constantly starting new things that we rarely finish!) Scrapbooking is great fun – I would recommend giving it a try. The Scrapagogo kits are excellent – I don’t think you have to join the monthly club, you can just buy one off packs if you are just testing it out.

      I hope you continue to listen to the podcast and thank you so much for taking the time to make contact.

      Kind regards

      Martine

  4. 7 Melanie 03/11/2010 at 5:59 pm

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is a great book and I was so glad when you said they are going to make it into a movie. Between your podcast and taht book Guernsey is a place I need to check out.

    • 8 imakehandmade 03/11/2010 at 6:27 pm

      Hi Melanie

      I have just started the book actually – it is fab. I haven’t heard any more about the movie progress but will look into it. I do hope they shoot it here! Definitely come and check us out 🙂

      Thanks for your message

      Martine


Leave a Reply

Welcome to the iMake Blog

iMake is the home of handmade in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

The iMake blog is where I share my love of all things handmade, through photos, links, tutorials, general ramblings and the iMake podcast. To find the podcast, visit the podcast page of this blog.

If you would like to know more about iMake please visit www.imake.gg or email info@imake.gg.

iMake is on Facebook, Twitter, Ravelry, Flickr, Folksy and Pinterest.  Please click on the icons below to be taken directly to the iMake pages. 

iMake on Facebook iMake on Twitter iMake on Ravelry 

Folksy

View Martine's Pins on Pinterest

Who is iMake?

Guernsey girl, maker of stuff, teacher, knitter, blogger, podcaster, tweeter, lover of stationery, geek, crocheter, jewellery maker, domestic goddess (sort of), paper crafter, g&t drinker, artist, singer and reluctant sports person.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


