Photography

I really want to be better at photographing the things I make…

It’s nothing to do with selling actually, I simply love trying to capture how beautiful and well crafted something is through a photo (hmmmm…. not everything I make is beautiful and well crafted, I should tell you that now!!  Lots of practice tends to go in to one finished article and even then it has its imperfections… or quirks.  But hey, that is the charm of handmade).

I love the creative process of making something.  But I also love the creative process of photographing something I have made.  It brings a whole new dimension to my making.  Thanks to the plethora of social networking platforms out there, once I have photographed something I make, I can share my craft all over the world.  People don’t actually have to buy the item, they can share in the joy of making and use it to spark their own ideas.  I suppose in a way, that is why ‘handmade’ will not ever make me lots of money (I can almost hear all crafters out there nodding in agreement!)  Whilst I do have a Folksy shop, it’s really not all about the sale.  It’s about the sharing of creative ideas and the community created by that.

So I intend to read up and do better.  I have found some useful blog posts about the topic and have posted them below.  I have also had a little play around with my camera today using props and natural light.  The photos aren’t fabulous, but at least that gives me room for improvement.

If anyone would like to share any tips on product photography please leave a comment on this blog post and I may well work the topic into the podcast.  Thanks!

My photos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Resources

More photos in my Flickr photostream

Gussy’s blog

Simply Shiny Life

Etsy video blog

Handmade Europe blog

2 Responses to “Photography”


  1. 1 Kiera 02/11/2010 at 10:24 pm

    I love the backgrounds you use for your photos, it seems you already put a lot of thought into your subject, and into how to direct the viewers eye.

    • 2 imakehandmade 03/11/2010 at 7:00 am

      Thank you Kiera. At this stage I am just experimenting so it is fluke really! But thank you. I really liked the stone background best – seemed to catch the light well for the silver. I would really like to do a photography course but it is quite expensive so I’ll settle for internet advice and books from the library I think!!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to the iMake Blog

iMake is the home of handmade in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

The iMake blog is where I share my love of all things handmade, through photos, links, tutorials, general ramblings and the iMake podcast. To find the podcast, visit the podcast page of this blog.

If you would like to know more about iMake please visit www.imake.gg or email info@imake.gg.

iMake is on Facebook, Twitter, Ravelry, Flickr, Folksy and Pinterest.  Please click on the icons below to be taken directly to the iMake pages. 

iMake on Facebook iMake on Twitter iMake on Ravelry 

Folksy

View Martine's Pins on Pinterest

Who is iMake?

Guernsey girl, maker of stuff, teacher, knitter, blogger, podcaster, tweeter, lover of stationery, geek, crocheter, jewellery maker, domestic goddess (sort of), paper crafter, g&t drinker, artist, singer and reluctant sports person.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


