Handmade Christmas Stuff

Homemade Christmas Wreath by Chris J

My Christmas edition of ‘Making’ magazine arrived yesterday and it is just gorgeous.  I really cannot recommend this magazine enough, it is just wonderful.  Even if you don’t get the magazine I thought a quick run down of a few of the projects in it would be useful for inspiration purposes.

One of the main themes of this month’s edition seems to be quilting.   This is good timing for me as I am doing a sewing course.  We are planning on making a quilted hot water bottle for one of the projects so I’ll get to learn the basics of quilting there.  I didn’t realise quite how fabulous quilts are actually.  I always assumed that they were a little old fashioned, but if you work in bold colours, patterns and shapes then you get something quite contemporary.  There is a fascinating interview with Kaffe Fassett – the guru of colour.  As well as a feature on the ‘Wednesday Girls’, a group of quilters.

There are some lovely Christmas decoration projects which I’d really like to have a go at but suspect I just won’t have the time with the number of Christmas projects I have left to complete.  The projects include Christmas tree decorations, wreaths and hand-stamped wrapping paper.  I have already decided to wrap my gifts this year in old Christmas magazines.

There are some fabulous Christmas baking recipes (tempting) and a great feature on how to create black chalk boards for your home.  I love chalk boards but have never made them in interesting shapes.  There are pictures of boards shaped as boats, houses and scottie dogs in the magazine.  The feature includes a tutorial on how to use a jigsaw, which is a great idea.

Christmas Tree by Chris J

There is obviously much more in the magazine, but these are the projects and features that I thought were particularly good.

So I feel more motivated to get on with Christmas projects this weekend.  I am planning a weekend of sewing.  I have a door stop to finish, as well as a bag, some denim cushion covers and make-up bags.  Watch this space for progress photos.  As it is pouring with rain outside this seems like an ideal weekend plan.

My other Christmas projects in progress at the moment are knitted items (mainly hats and mitts) and a few small jewellery pieces.  I am quickly learning the small gifts are the way forward when you are planning on making the majority of your Christmas presents.  It has indeed been something of a learning curve!

I’d also like to spend some time this weekend working on some Christmas card tutorials for the blog.  The plan is to start with a really simple, beginners hand stamped card and then eventually move on to something more complicated.  Hopefully I will have time to get started on this.  I should really prioritise my Christmas projects….  Again, watch this space for progress.

It would be great to hear from readers who are making Christmas presents this year.  Please feel free to drop me a line with project ideas and perhaps a few photos if you are happy to share them.  You can leave a comment on the blog or email me on info@imake.gg.  Thanks.

0 Responses to “Handmade Christmas Stuff”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to the iMake Blog

iMake is the home of handmade in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

The iMake blog is where I share my love of all things handmade, through photos, links, tutorials, general ramblings and the iMake podcast. To find the podcast, visit the podcast page of this blog.

If you would like to know more about iMake please visit www.imake.gg or email info@imake.gg.

iMake is on Facebook, Twitter, Ravelry, Flickr, Folksy and Pinterest.  Please click on the icons below to be taken directly to the iMake pages. 

iMake on Facebook iMake on Twitter iMake on Ravelry 

Folksy

View Martine's Pins on Pinterest

Who is iMake?

Guernsey girl, maker of stuff, teacher, knitter, blogger, podcaster, tweeter, lover of stationery, geek, crocheter, jewellery maker, domestic goddess (sort of), paper crafter, g&t drinker, artist, singer and reluctant sports person.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


